16 Sanskaras in Hinduism and Their Relevance from the Past to the Present

In Hinduism, rituals or sanskaras are milestones in a person’s life and hold sacred importance. It is believed that sanskaras purify the soul and cleanse sins not only from the mortal body but also from the immortal soul. Literally, Sanskara means culture, making perfect or refining in Sanskrit.


The sanskaras, as preached through Vedas, inculcate in a person, the karmas of life. They subconsciously leave impressions in people's minds which build their characteristic behaviour and perception of the world. This insight brings them stability, calmness, and inner peace. As one fails to decide which way to proceed in life, he relies on the samskaras or sanskara to provide guidance.

The Vedic scriptures identify 40 sanskaras. The 16 major sanskaras, known as the “shodasha sanskaras” are the most pious ones. In Hinduism, every aspect of life is sacred, and before the auspicious beginning of any activity, there is a celebration. This celebration of the rites of passage of a man to different levels or stages of life, from conception to cremation, form the sanskaras.


1.Garbhadhana: Ceremony of conception


As the name suggests, ‘garbadhana’ is the bestowing of wealth into the garbha (the mother’s womb). In other words, Garbhadhana means “gifting the womb”. This sanskara is performed after the couple is united in holy matrimony. It is the first known rite of a human and begins before conception.

Earlier, the main principle of marriage was to forward the lineage. Therefore, it was considered important for a newly married couple to cleanse their mind and soul of any negative thoughts, resulting in problems during the conception of a child. This sanskara aims at bringing harmony between the newlyweds who resolve to treat each other with respect and love.

2.Pumsavana: Secure the birth of the child


Pumsavana is a ritual conducted in or after the third month of pregnancy and usually before the foetus starts moving inside the womb. The ceremony celebrates the rite of passage of the developing foetus.

Logically, when the pregnancy begins to show at the beginning of the trimester, the mother and the child must be given food and essential herbs. This helps in the proper development of the foetus and reduces the risks associated with child birth.

3.Seemantonnayana/ Simantonnayana: Parting the hair

simantonnayana sanskar

Simantonnayana is usually performed in the fifth or seventh month of pregnancy, where the husband ‘parts the hair’ of his wife. This ceremony is performed for the health and long life of the mother and the child in the womb. This sanskara is similar to modern baby showers where the relatives of the couple gift sweets, savouries, and items that the child might need after its birth.


4.Jatakarma: Natal rites

Jatakarma sanskar

This samskara identifies the bonding between the father and the baby after its birth. According to the scriptures, the father performs this Sanskara before cutting off the umbilical cord of the newborn child from that of the mother. Following the traditional Jatakarma ritual, the father welcomes the baby by touching the baby’s lips with honey and ghee.

5.Namakarana: Ceremony for naming the child

Namakarana sanskar

The ancient Vedic ceremony of naming a child is usually done on the eleventh or twelfth day after birth. On this day, the parents announce the formal name of the child, which is decided as per traditional ways of naming. The Namakarana ceremony takes place in the presence of family members and relatives to give an identity to the newborn.

6.Nishkramana: First outing for showing the sun